Go Vote!

My site was nominated for Best Shopping Blog!

People Who Love Us

Support Me!

Grab Our Banner!


My Weekly Wish List

Get on it..

Get on it..
The Handmade Highway!

Tuesday, March 31, 2009

Moon's Harvest Bath and Body


It's been a long day today. Lots of stuff going on in life and because of that I need a long hot bath. Only problem is that I don't have anything fun for my bath but scrubs and I need something to drop in the water. Boo! Hiss!

I wish I woulc have found these adorable cupcake bath bombs from Moon's Harvest. Drizzled in Cocoa Butter to add extra moisture to your bath, these Bath Bombs are loaded with skin loving oils! They fizzle, they foam, they smell great, they moisturize, and they are sure to please your friends or family.

Each Cupcake weighs 8.5 to 9 ounces and is individually Gift Boxed in a 4x4 inch white gloss box with Pink Flair and ready for giving to yourself or someone special. These are HUGE and I could really use one right now along with many of the other great looking goodies at Moon's Harvest.

The Effing Card Company


Sometimes you need to send a card but you just aren't quite sure what you want. Maybe it's a birthday card. Maybe it's a just because card. Or maybe it's a card to describe how much you love someone. Doesn't matter why you want to send a card at The Effing Card Company as long as you can find a card that says exactly how you feel.

I actually had the pleasure of twittering back and forth with the owner of this great company on Twitter the other day and he had me cracking up. I'm "effing" lucky to follow a man of such caliber.

So major! Love it!

Monday, March 30, 2009

Let's Giveaway Something!

Every single new person to "follow" this blog through blogger will be added to a bowl and picked at random to get a March Little Black Box for them and a friend! Yay! Follow us for fun contests and fun finds! Equally important is that the 160 current followers of my blog will also be added to their own bowl and one person at random will be drawn to win a March Little Black Box as well. Drawing will be picked April 10, 2009 bright and early in the morning. Stay tuned for my fun announcement!

10 Dollar Review!


I've got 10 lonely dollars burning a hole in my PayPal account. 10 bucks!

I want to spend it on something handmade but I need you to point me in the direction of what you think I just have to have in order for my 10 dollars to land in your personal PayPal account.

Link me to something that costs no more then 10 dollars INCLUDING shipping and handling in your online store. Doesn't matter what selling venue you are on. I want to buy from you!

I need a major pick me up and this will allow for a fun evening. Get to linking!

Black Boxes On Sale


Just wanted to put out a friendly notice that black boxes are on sale! The March participants worked so hard and sent in a ton of amazing stuff for this round of boxes. I was thrilled with the response that I got. Lots of bath and body this round! You can pick up a box for only $23.50 which includes S/H!

If you're a sucker for samples and love trying new handmade venues this month of boxes is right up your alley!

Neile


Hang on blog readers. This next blog entry will most likely make you want to drag out your wallets and spend. The only thing holding me back right now are bills and if I had the means I'd be rolling around with a piece from Neile as we speak.

I am so totally blown away by the beauty of this shop that I can't even find the words to describe just how much I want pretty much everything. You might think the idea of owning a piece of jewelry that features butterfly wings encased in glass a little creepy but I think it's fabulous. The butterflies are not harmed in the making of this jewelry nor are they killed to make these. They are naturally farmed once they expire allowing Neile to make these gorgeous creations.

The piece that I have my eye on unfortunately is being reserved for someone but I love it so much that I want to share it's beauty with all of you. This necklace features a real blue morpho butterfly encased in glass and silver alloy. The pendant is one large circle (1.5") and hangs on a 16" sterling silver chain. The front shows the distinctive iridescent blue these butterflies are known for, while the back shows the "eye" type image common to many butterfly species.

So stinkin' neat!

Simply Sentimental


The twins have a birthday coming up on the 11th and I can't believe they will be 7. My, where has the time gone? It seems like only yesterday I was rushing around with my head chopped off changing dirty diapers.

Both boys have decided that they want to attend the last Phoenix Coyote hockey game of the year with one friend each. Fair enough! Thankfully for me the Coyote's offer ticket specials on the weekend and all upper area tickets include all you can eat food! Bonus! The kids will be entertained and I don't have them messing up my home either. Can't ask for more then that.

I kindly emailed Simply Sentimental about a week ago asking if she could create something special for their birthday invites. Since I only needed two cards and I like supporting handmade, I figured custom birthday invites would be the only way to go.

I got a picture of them over the weekend and I'm in love! Check out these invites?! They are too cute and ultra clever. Thank you so much Simply Sentimental for the special added touch in making my boys have the best 7th birthday EVER!

If you have a special event coming up and you're looking for something custom in a style like this you'd be a fool to not contact this Etsy shop. I adore most everything for sale and wish I had a need for everything available.

Friday, March 27, 2009

Etsy in Twilight!!

I just found a blog post over on Etsy Love that was about an Etsy artist being featured in the movie Twilight and I had to bring th post over here to read. Enjoy!

I did not see Twilight in the theater. I have yet to read the books. I only knew about this from my friend Sarah who kept telling me, “I think one of your friend Angie’s bags is in the movie Twilight. Bella Swan uses it through out the movie.” FINALLY, finally Angie got a chance to see the movie this week. Her bag is in the movie!! The bag was made for the Etsy shop of The Crafty Devils which is the shop that Angie and I started in 2007. It was one of the few pieces which reflected both of our work. The bag design is hers and I did the feather illustration. The Twilight bag can now be found in her new shop Stitch and Swash. Stop by and check out the bag and all of her other great work!



Anakim


It's been awhile since I've taken the time to write about a jewelry business that really catches my eye. Probably because money is so tight that I don't have the time to purchase many new pieces. Dang it! When are things going to improve so we can all splurge again! My wish list is a mile long.

Well, until I can go nuts again a girl can dream and my current dream is owning something from Anakim. I'm lusting for this white and brown beach pottery set in a fine silver bezel, hanging from a 17” silver cable chain, with a silver toggle clasp. It's very me!

Beach pottery is china and pottery carelessly thrown into the sea many years ago. The pottery is tumbled on the ocean floor, smoothed by the waves and sand until it washes up on shore. It's also commonly known to as sea glass.

I want! I love!

Dreaming Giggles Designs


When the twins were 1st born people were always coming and going. Everyone wanted to get a sneak peek of them or even just stop by to hold them and all I wanted to do is sleep when they went down for a nap.

New mothers need a lot of sleep in order to function and thanks to Dreaming Giggle Designs for graciously thinking of the moms and moms to be when they created these canvas hand-painted signs that can hang from your front door when you need a time out from visitors!

I wish I would have thought of something like this sooner. I mean, of course the printer paper and black sharpie taped to the door works too but this is just so much cuter! There is one that says, "Shhh Nap Time" and another that says, "Shhh Baby Sleeping."

Overall, I think these are a must have for all mothers and would make an extremely great gift for someone you want to give some peace and quiet.

Thursday, March 26, 2009

Sugar Candie Beauty Sale!


Bounce. Bounce. Bounce.

My new all time favoritest sugar scrub company offered me the coupon code of a lifetime to give you guys today only.

Yep, only readers of THIS blog are intitled to 40% off their order at Sugar Candie Beauty. 40% off! Simple enter code BlackFriday40 at checkout to take advantage of this steal.

I swear up and down that you'll be so stinkin' pleased if you place an order. I won't compare these to other popular e-tailer scrubs by naming names but I promise you that these are just like the big guns. I ordered and the turn around time was only 3 days!

Give this site a chance and soon it WILL be the site everyone heads to for bathtime fun. To read my inital review simply go here. Enjoy!

Super Secret 40% Off - Tomorrow Only


A little birdie told me that one of my most favorite new businesses will be offering 40% off tomorrow on this very blog.

Who is it? Who could it be? Who on the Earth could I be trying to spoil and tease you with?

Only time will tell.....

tick tock. tick tock.

Stay tuned!

The Hookery


Can you believe we've almost made it to Easter? Oh my! It's freakin' April in a few days. Like, wasn't it just Christmas? Time flies when we're having fun and broke! At least we still have time to drool and desire for things that are handmade and lovely. Here's something extra drool-worthy.

I found these neato little Spring/Easter themed finger puppets from a shop on Etsy and when I went back to write about them today they were sold. No fun! Someone else thought they were cool too. No worries, I did a little hunting and found something comparable from The Hookery.

I think these finger puppets would make a wonderful addition to any child's Easter basket. Maybe you don't have a child but you have a teen daughter or girlfriends you like to do a little something special for? You could top a fun flavored lip balm with one of these and you'd have a cheap Easter themed gift.

I love cheap!

Fun 2 Wear


Have you ever stressed out over what to get that good friend for their baby shower? I mean, obviously everyone does the same thing. They head straight for the shower list and buy from that without any originality. The mother to be gets bath towels, baby shampoo, toys, bedding and more but nothing really memorable. Now is your time to shine at your next baby shower. Be the one that people admire when you shop at Fun 2 Wear.

Whether the baby is a boy or a girl, you are sure to find something truly amazing as your browse the wears available to you. You'll be sure to giggle while you view all 52 pages of listing in their Etsy shop. 52 pages! That's insane.

I particular I'm digging the back rub onesie and the can't date until I'm 30 bib. You know that people with twisted humor will be complimenting you on your friend or even asking where you got it from. People enjoy laughing and those with their minds in the gutter will cross rooms just to high 5 you.

I love my risque finds.

Wednesday, March 25, 2009

Nicole W Clark

Ok ladies.
There's a few days of our lives that are truly the most important days of our lives. Your first kiss, falling in love, getting married, and having children. Those are memories you will remember for the rest of your life and hold onto for a very long time. Out of all of those the only one you can truly plan and attempt to make everything go off without a hitch is your wedding day.

Because of that I am bringing you something extra special from Nicole W Clark. Don't let that beautiful cake of yours go unnoticed. The cake topper is something important that every bride tries to nail just perfectly. Now you can with a personalized cake topper that is designed to look just like you and your hubby to be!

What can be cooler than having a super cute five inch version of you and the love-of-your-life sitting on the top of your wedding cake? If you are looking for something special and meaningful for your big day, this is it. Your custom made cake topper will not deteriorate, and will last long after your wedding date to serve as a keepsake and reminder of your special day. You can have your entire outfits, hairstyles, skin tones, flowers and even your furry pet made into miniature form to sit on top of your wedding cake for you and all your guests to admire. The cost for a custom made topper for your big day is only $119. You will find that this price is extremely reasonable, similar toppers can easily cost double or triple this figure.

Man, now this is clever!

You like free stuff and coupon codes, right?

Just got a delicious news worthy email from my gal Liz at Wickedly Chic. Time to share!

Just wanted to let you know that the WC Spring Fling has started and we have teamed up with Lemming Central for this event. It's at http://www.itswickedlychic.blogspot.com/.

There will be giveaways about every other day too!
Right now, the giveaway is being sponsored by Raw Beauty and it's a $20.00 gift certificate. Their stuff is gorgeous so you guys had better enter!
In Bath & Body, there are coupon codes for: Lemon Lollipop, The Mom Lady, For Your Nose, Gift Boulevard, Bauble Bath, East Coast Tropics, Blue Gecko
Cosmetics: Lueur Jeune Mineral Cosmetics

Eco-Friendly: Dandy Body Care, Ginger's Garden, Raw Beauty, Lily Gulch Soaps

Candles: Chunky Butt, Just Right Candles, Things That Make Scents, Up North Candles

Get it girl - Get it get it girl!

Tuesday, March 24, 2009

Kelly Zarb Style

The weather is quickly changing here in Arizona. When I came home last weekend we actually had to turn on the air in order to make the home livable. Scary because back are the days that I'm paying 350 a month for air conditioning. I rather enjoy my 40 dollar gas bill for the winter. I can live without air conditioning right? All I need are a few of these amazing tanks created by Kelly Zarb Style and I'm good to go!

See the thing is, if you like to stand out then purchasing something that no one else has will allow you to do so. Stop shopping at your local mall and start shopping handmade. Again, I will stress that handmade doesn't mean dumpy or less quality. I mean, think about it, all major fashion houses are handmade! All designers have to start somewhere and I think Kelly Zarb Style really has something to say with these tanks. They are adorable!

With a tank like this you'd be fashionable and cool in the warm weather. Check out the rest of what this shop has to offer simply by following my links. Enjoy!

Lori's Place Gourmet Delights


I spent a good hour or two yesterday on Etsy going through page and page of listings marking favorites so I would have new stuff to write about. My goal is two new features a day without missing a day, except on the weekends, until April 25th. Can I do it?! Handmade is well and alive in me and my energy has been restored after my vacation so I hope for good things!

The first place I want to mention during my newly found energy is Lori's Place Gourmet Delights. Now, the reason I specifically want to mention this place is because I secretly want one of you to purchase the dozen of decorated butterfly cookies and have them mailed to me. You want to be my friend, right?

All joking aside these cookies look out of this world. The decorating is one of a kind and would make a perfect gift for someone you care about. Maybe you want to impress the people at your Easter gathering with something extra special. These would be the perfect extra added touch and all the kids bouncing around from their already over board sugar high will love you that much more.

I wonder if they need someone to do a taste test with? Kidding.. Ok, maybe not.

Monday, March 23, 2009

Back Home!

Wow, one whole week and I'm finally back. I had a blast with my mom, the boys, and my husband. We stayed at the Howard Johnson right across the street from Disneyland and the drive from Phoenix to Anaheim wasn't that bad at all.

We pulled over a few times to let the twins stretch their legs and grab a snack from the cooler. The secret is packing a cooler with tons of bottle water and string cheese and then grabbing lunch at a Subway along the freeway. $5 dollar foot longs feed our entire family for $15 dollars! Can't beat that!

We arrived nice and early after a 5-6 hour drive and went right to the room and passed out. After a few hours I woke up and took the kids swimming as I was trying to pass time to go to the airport to pick up our mystery guest. My mom forgot her cell phone and was supposed to call when she landed but after a few trips around the pick up area I finally had to get out to use the rest room when I hear her calling my name. Dylan also had to go so he was the 1st to see her and just stood their in confusion and shock when he saw her. It was amazing. Connor was in the car waiting for Dylan to get back in but to his amazement Grandma crawled and Connor accused me of being a trickster. Off to Red Robin for a great meal and then back to the hotel room for Bacardi and Diet Coke's until we passed out.

The next day the lines weren't bad and we managed to fit in Jungle Cruise, Pirate's of the Caribbean, The Haunted Mansion and Splash Mountain. We were only feet from getting on Indiana Jones when Dylan started saying he wasn't feeling so hot and then well suddenly he threw up bucket loads of chocolate milk narrowly missing the ride operator. Great times! Now my mom had this brilliant idea and tried to catch the puke in her hand. (I'm laughing my butt off right now thinking about it!) Now Dylan and Grandma are covered in puke and we didn't get to go on the ride. Oh well!

Back to the hotel for our clan and an easy evening because Dylan remained white as a ghost the rest of the night. No biggie! Nothing takeout pizza and booze can't fix. We had a great 1st day.

Dylan returned to normal the next day and we spent the next 3 days having the times of our life in 1 hour long ride lines. Spring Break and Disneyland DO NOT MIX. Oh well, it was nice having mom there and surprisingly the hubby wasn't that grumpy.

We had a great view of the fireworks from our hotel room and the kids loved watching them night after night starting at 9:25 PST. We stayed 5 nights with my entertainment card for only $250 dollars. Can't beat that! 50% off!

Our last day in California we went to Newport Beach and strolled around before returning to the room for the night. Michael wanted to see the Ducks play so he went off to the hockey game while mom and I took the boys swimming and to Mimi's Cafe.

Of course I cried like a baby when it was time to take mom home. I miss that woman so much. I think the older we get the more we need our parents in our lives. I might have thought I could concur all when I was younger and perhaps maybe I still do but I know without a doubt that my mom makes and keeps my world going around. She's in the starting stages of moving to Arizona and I am counting down the minutes until I can finally have a normal loving mother daughter relationship with that woman.

Glad to be home. Glad to be refreshed. I'm ready to rock and roll this Spring time. Weather is beautiful here! I'm loving life again.

Friday, March 13, 2009

Congrats Elizabeth Aldringer!

I'm way late at posting this because I've been so busy packing and getting things ready for tomorrow morning.

Late last week I posted saying that I'd give away a free Black box for a new blog reader and a friend. I picked at random this afternoon and the winner is Elizabeth Aldinger. Elizabeth, send me an email with your address and the address you want your other box to go to and I will send you out your free boxes just as soon as the March boxes are assembled.

Ok, gotta jet! It's vacation time!

Wednesday, March 11, 2009

New Sign Up Page!


I created a new easy sign up page over on the main site for participants to use when they want to sign up for any of our monthly rounds of sample boxes.

I'm currently looking for a few more April participants and about 20+ May ones. Don't miss out and sign up now! Being one of the number one sample boxes on the net isn't easy! Only the best for our sample box buyers. Let's keep up the tradition things are slow around here.

I can answer any questions simply by emailing as well.

Verbena Custom Fragrance Blends

With just a little over 48 hours until Disney vacation 2009 starting I've found myself in a panic to make sure that we have all the goods to make our 330 mile road trip fun. Between that and calling our mystery guest, AKA my mom, I've been having a blast trying to keep everything straight.

My mom seems to think that she won't get arrested smuggling her razor on the airplane so that she can shave. See mom, there's this thing called 9/11 and ever since then you aren't allowed to bring things like that on board so if you try to smuggle that razor on board I won't be bailing you out of a airplane terrorist prison. Sorry.

Since I'll be safely driving I'm lucky enough to bring my razor and my whipped cream handmade shave soap that I purchase from my favorite Indies. I found a new one at Verbenda Custom Fragrance Blends that I want to try.

Someone want to hook a girl up with a sample of the Coconut Cream and Frosted Lime Cupcake shave soap? Oh my French this looks amazing! Just a little goes a long way and for only $7 bucks you can't refuse!

So mom, I'll bring the goods and you just bring hugs and kisses. Haunted Mansion - here we come!

Annie's Sweatshop


How adorable is this shop? Anne's Sweatshop made me ooooohh and awww immediately when I saw the cute little doggy in all their photos and banner advertisements. Calling all dog lovers! You'll want to keep reading for more info about this amazing handmade business.

I won't lie. I've had my eye on a little dog lately. Don't ask me why.. I don't have the time or patience to train but man are those little dogs cute. Plus, Coco Keane needs a friend? Actually, my husband won't allow it and that's ok. Until then I'll just keep sharing all the cute dog finds that I can manage until I convince him otherwise.

You'll find collars, leashes, harnesses, pet clothing, beds, and other accessories at Anne's Sweatshop. The colors and cool patterns of all the items are what really sold me on this shop and made me want to write about them. You will want to show off your cute little friend when it's dressed to the nines! Get shopping!

Tuesday, March 10, 2009

Sewcranberry


With just a few more days until I brave the size hour car ride with two 6 year olds and a grumpy husband it has left me looking for ideas to keep the kids busy. I'd like to make it to Disneyland in one piece and without a major migraine so I've been searching high and low for activity books, flash cards, and other fun things to keep them out of trouble and focuses on something fun.

I wish I would have thought to search Etsy for fun stuff a week earlier. I stumbled upon Sewcranberry this morning and found this really awesome eco-friendly re-usable activity fabric totes that come already packed with coloring book, crayons, and flash cards. Although I think my kids might be a little old for something like this I think a 4-5 year old would be stoked to get their little bitty hands on it. What a great surprise for that long road trip and more importantly it can be used over and over again. Each time you're loading up the car you just whip out the pack with a new coloring book to keep your child busy.

I love this idea! I love that it's handmade! There's so many crafty ideas out there that people should take advantage of and this is just another one of them. Thanks Sewcranberry for offering something so cool!

Monday, March 9, 2009

Don't forget about our fun contest!

Every single new person to "follow" this blog through blogger will be added to a bowl and picked at random to get a March Little Black Box for them and a friend! Yay! Follow us for fun contests and fun finds!

Equally important is that the original 131 followers of my blog will also be added to their own bowl and one person at random will be drawn to win a March Little Black Box as well. Drawing will be picked March 13, 2009 bright and early in the morning. Stay tuned for my fun announcement!

From My Hand Sale Info!


I had the pleasure of working with From My Hand last year and the owner Su is such a delight! I also was very impressed with the promos when they were sent in. You'll find a large variety of jewelry in all sorts of colors, beads, and stones.

I adore this yellow turquoise and peridot jasper beaded necklace and lucky for me everything in this shop is 10% off during their special "Recession Relief" sale and shipping is free when you purchase multiple pairs of earrings at once. Simply send the owner a convo letting them know you found their sale through our blog and you'll get a revised invoice before you pay.

Do something good today - revive the economy and support handmade!

Sunday, March 8, 2009

Grumpy Girl


I think I have mentioned Grumpy Girl before but after recently taking another peek at their shop I just had to race over here to show this place off again.

Oh my gosh are these soaps totally amazing! Look how neat they look! They are so colorful and vibrant. I want to eat them.. only I don't eat soap and I hope you won't or don't either.

I want a slice of Mr. Big for my hubby. He would really dig this. It's so fun looking. It's described as being the scent of pure innocence with the exotic nature of patchouli and paper whites, creamy orchid, sensuous cedar, white amber and sultry musk, sparkling with fresh mandarin, bergamont, rosewood, lavender and crisp apple martini.

Personally, I'm really in love with the Lollipop Guild Soap. I think these bars are the cutest things ever. It's described as a sticky goodness of Spun sugar, berries and fruits and candy overtones on a stick.

Don't slowly wander over to look at all the goodies in stock you have got to hurry before all the best looking stuff is gone!

Jac Jewelry Sale!


Yay! One of my most favorite jewelry shops on Etsy, Jac Jewelry, sent me a special email so to share with all of you!

In celebration of their one-year Etsy anniversary, here are next week's specials!

Starting Sunday, March 8 and through March 14, all necklaces are 10% off! But wait, that's not all – in addition to the necklace special, all orders ship for free! This is a deal you simply can’t pass up. Check out Jac Jewelry and clear out that shop pronto!

Friday, March 6, 2009

Send Me Your Sale Info To Post!

I got an email from a very very close person in my life letting me know about a sale they were having over the weekend and I had to share it with you all.

The email reminded me that I'm not hearing from enough of you business owners annoucing your sales! Let me be the first place you go when you annouce something special. I'll give you your own feature along with your sale info. Not bad!


Kreations by Kathie is offering 20% off everything March 7-9th on their website. Hurry now to take advantage of the sale. I highly suggest the Root Beer Float and the Fruit Loops scent. Both are seriously addicting!

Thursday, March 5, 2009

Vacation Notice


Just a little reminder that The Little Black Box will be on vacation March 14-19. I'm going to try to make blog posts via my hotel with fun pictures and stuff!

Hope you'll all brave the break with me!

Let's Do Something Fun!

Every single new person to "follow" this blog through blogger will be added to a bowl and picked at random to get a March Little Black Box for them and a friend! Yay!

Follow us for fun contests and fun finds!

Equally important is that the 131 current followers of my blog will also be added to their own bowl and one person at random will be drawn to win a March Little Black Box as well.

Drawing will be picked March 13, 2009 bright and early in the morning. Stay tuned for my fun announcement!

Awesome Feedback I Just Got

I'm thrilled to pieces when I get emails like these. I think I'm going to start posting them to pat myself and all the contributors on the back.


Hi Kim,

I just wanted to write and let you know how much I LOVE this month's black box! The samples were top notch and a great variety of different things. I am in bliss :) I posted my thoughts on the forum hoping to spur others to add on. I was going to do it last month, but never got around to it and was disappointed that no one else did as well. I love reading about what everyone received!

Thanks for all your hard work!



And THANK YOU for being a hard core fan of our cause! Go Indie! I also encourage all of you to post your thoughts on the boxes each month. There was NO feedback last month which is very discouraging to those that donate their items. If you got last month's box give your feedback and make someone smile!

Happily Handmade Giveaway is Back!


The idea behind the Happily Handmade Giveaway began in the Spring of 2004 from a brainstorming session among a handful of indie artists looking for a unique way to promote their businesses and reward their customers. In five years they’ve hosted seven events, each one growing larger and more successful. What began as a small ordeal has grown to surpass their wildest expectations. The Fall 2004 event awarded gift baskets to nine winners, a measly number when compared to the Winter 2007 event which generated fifty-one winners and over $15,000 in prizes.

The Happily Handmade Giveaway is sponsored by a talented group of participating indie artists, designers, and shops who contribute their unique handmade creations to the Happily Handmade Giveaway. These items are sorted and combined to create fabulous prize boxes filled with handmade gifts, worth about $250 a piece, which are then given away to randomly drawn contestants. Yet it isn’t only the winners who benefit. Businesses participating in the giveaway report a huge increase in traffic to their site and subscriptions to their mailing list.

When asked why they run this giveaway, Lindsay and Nicole will give you a smile and point out the track record for both shoppers and designers. “It’s summed up best in an email we got from one of our winners during the Fall 2006 Giveaway,” reports Lindsay, “The winner thanked us for hosting the contest, then went on to tell us that she had not been familiar with most of the companies that took part in the contest until she entered. She also told us that she had already purchased additional items from the businesses involved and had created a wish list of other items to buy. Knowing that we are helping these small businesses reach their target market is an amazing feeling. It only gets better when you see how happy everyone is to learn about them!”

The 2009 Happily Handmade giveaway will officially begin on April 1, 2009. Entries will be accepted through May 13, and the winners of the extraordinary gift baskets will be announced on May 18. Contestants can enter the giveaway by visiting the participating Indie Shop Sponsors websites and submitting their contact information. Each website will feature a separate entry form, allowing entrants to increase their chances of winning by simply visiting more of the Indie Shop Sponsors.

Check it out! The Little Black Box is even involved!

Wednesday, March 4, 2009

Hockey!


Today has been whack!

First off my kitty woke me up freaking out at 5 a.m. awake since then. No sleep makes Kimberlee Keane an angry little monster. Then I had to get my living room ready because I purchased a new/used couch and chair for my living room. This set was in a formal living room and was hardly used and I snagged it for $400. Thank you tax refund. Our old couch was shot and super uncomfortable and the new set is adoreable! The pair is micro suede and treated for spills which is extra important with two nearly 7 year old terrors in charge of Casa de Keane. Pictures to follow! Be proud of my amazing find! Oh and yes that's Etsy Art on my wall from MADART. Love their work! *Chair not shown*

Then I've posted before but not too much about my household being ginormous hockey fans. We go to a lot of games and I'm in love with Dan Carcillo of the Phoenix Coyotes. He's like my "free pass" as my husband likes to say. Well, today was hockey trade day and the first bad news of the day was my son's number 1 player was traded to another team and then out of nowhere I get notice on the bottom of the screen saying that my baby was traded too! Out of nowhere! How could they? There wasn't even speculation that it was going to take place. It just hit me out of nowhere and of course I started crying. Silly huh? It's like part of my family was kicked out of my family! I adore Mr. Carcillo and now he's east coast bound.

In honor of my favorite sport I did a little handmade hockey search and wanted to share some of my favorites. If you look down in the lower left hand side of my blog you'll see a running list of some favorites I've marked on Etsy and I marked a few hockey things but my most favorite item has to be the cool hockey puck soaps from Daisycakes Soap. These are sweet!

Tuesday, March 3, 2009

Crave


Crave Jewelry Design was created after many unsuccessful and seemingly endless searches for unique jewelry in a world of mass produced goods. Crave is totally something you want indulge in immediately.


The jewelry designs in this shop feature lots little metal animal designed pendants. You can tell that the shop owner is completely capitvated by tiny creatures.


I seriously adore the little Chihuahua necklace. This necklace is made from one sterling Chihuahua charm, sterling silver chain, clasp & findings. It measures nearly 18" in length. Oh, the itty bitty cupcake is darling too! There's so many nifty pendants in this shop I can't seem to pin point just one that I like the most.

If you aren't a fan of necklaces you'll even find cute earrings in fun designs as well. How about those lightning bolt ones? Adoreable!

Monday, March 2, 2009

Sugarcandie Beauty


I took a leap of faith this past week and ordered from a new bath and body company on Etsy. The pictures are what caught my eye originally. The scrubs looked a lot like my favorite scrub company Isle of Eden and the scent combinations were insane.

Sugarcandie Beauty has totally won me over. The scent combos were very true to the descriptions to what I ordered. My favorite was Double Bubble Bubblegum. This smells just like those green and white mints that are offered at Christmas time. They were colorful and the sprinkles on the top of each scrub were the perfect addeded touch. Also extremely important was the packaging and the labels were all top notch. These look like literally something you could pick up at your favorite bath and body store.

The only thing I wish was different is that there was a tiny little bit more sugar in them. Give me a bit more sugar and I'd be the happiest girl alive. I think all I have to do next time is simply request more sugar and I'll be set. Don't be a fool and rush over to this shop and place your 1st order. That's my little hint - add a little bit more sugar and Sugarcandie Beauty will forever be my number 1 favorite scrub company of all time. I want super scruby and creamy!

Sugarcandie Beauty has also generously allowed me to mention that all 1st time customers can have 30% off a order made either through their Etsy shop or their online website. Simply use code "black30" for your discount. I just noticed to that this week their special is buy 3 scrubs get one free and shipping is only 1 dollar all week long! Guess I'm making another purchase! Yay!